Alien Weaponry Plus Some Other Guys – Tuesday/Wednesday 21st/22nd February 2023

Today I started out on a 2 day “rail” trip to see one of my favourite bands in back to back concerts. I say “rail” trip as I’m going to be travelling by train rather than road. I also found I’m now eligible for a Senior Railcard! Another gig that has been postponed several times and it would have been 3 back to back concerts but for the rearrangements.

Nottingham is my first stop and after arriving it was a short walk to the hotel. From there it would be a short walk to the venue but first food. Outlets were a bit sparse this side of town but there was a handy pizza restaurant on the way. Service was quick and the pizza delicious although turns out this is an alcohol free restaurant.

I was early to the venue as I wanted to grab a good spot for Alien Weaponry. On entry they’re only checking tickets, no scanners to be seen but maybe we’re not a threatening bunch.  Interestingly I’d bought standing tickets when there were seats and I can’t remember why but never mind. Refreshments in hand I headed towards the front where I managed to get fairly close before the first band came on.

Employed To Serve

Having never seen Employed To Serve or heard them I’m not sure what to expect but boy did they come out all guitars blazing. Kicking off by shouting “wake the fuck up Nottingham” I knew it was going to be intense. The crowd needed that kick-start as before it was all just milling about and almost straight way it became wind milling about as the pit erupted beside me. This meant the crowd shuffled and moved and I made my way forward. It’s a short but vibrant set fronted with the vocal growls of the lead singer. Being close up the music is severe but not unpleasant and yet it’s not my usual taste being more furious than I’m usually into. The lead singer prowls the stage at times menacing and others encouraging with 2 of the guitarist holding ground whilst the third adds to the vocals, sitting behind is the drummer keeping that savage beat going . Towards the end of the set there’s time for some audience participation with “We don’t need you” which reminded me of Lacuna Coil’s “We Fear nothing” . Just as the crowd surfers begin the set is over and everything jams to a halt as we gather our collective breathe.

My Review Score : 7

The crowd shifts again as people wander off for various reasons and I find myself 3rd row as the stage crew rush around preparing for the next band and the ones I’m really here for.

Alien Weaponry

For those who have not heard of Alien Weaponry they’re from New Zealand and perform many of their songs in their native language of “Te Reo Maori” and that’s how their set opens. Henry, drummer, enters and standing behind his kit performs a Haka, a ceremonial Maori war dance or challenge. This is clearly performed with pride displaying both strength and unity and as it ebbs away he is joined by his brother Lewis on guitar and bass player Turanga and they immediately rip into “Raupatu” from their debut album.

By now the crowd has swelled and as the pit opens up there’s some readjustment and I’m a bit closer and more central. For a 3 piece band they manage to project a huge amount of energy and this fuels the crowd further and seems to form a feedback loop. Lewis is on vocals whilst Turanga has more freedom to roam the stage whilst Henry underpins the power with his drumming.

It’s heavy and with the bass thudding through my chest it’s captivating in a way. The crowd surfers have returned and I can predict their arrival on my head as security rush forward to receive them. Although only 7 songs in length they play a good mix from both their albums. Their penultimate song is announced by Lewis as he dedicates it to their great, great,  great grandfather who lost his life at the battle of Gate Pa in 1864. The music is fierce and at times tribal with heavy bass lines and blistering riffs evoking something primal in us all. The pit is even more frenzied as a wall of death opens up during their last song “Kai Tangata” only to be slammed shut seconds later.

They thank Employed To Serve, Gojira for bringing them along on the tour, their crew but save the biggest praise for us their supporters and we cheer them from the stage.

My Review Score : 9

Phew!

That’s it for me at the front I’m off for refreshments and a calmer position for the headline band, another I’ve not seen or heard before. The queues are quite long for the facilities so I head upwards toward the gallery area. This arena is used as an ice rink and as such I’ve been standing on the ice! so most of the facilities are upward around the seating area. Back “on the ice” I take up position near the sound desk, the arena has filled up but there are still seats available and it’s not hugely rammed on the floor. Perhaps indicative of repeated postponements rather than lack of sales.

Gojira

The stage has a curtain across which symbols are slowly scrolling to the right. No idea if they’re meant to mean anything but then a countdown clock begins and there’s rising excitement amongst the crowd. When it reaches 0 the curtain drops and the crowd erupts simultaneously with the first chord. The backdrop is transformed into a video screen and as the first song is playing, “Born for One Thing”, it’s projecting what I’d liken to a Tool style video.

As with the other bands tonight it’s all about the music rather than the musicians as Gojira’s lead singer addresses us minimally throughout. He urges us to higher levels of excitement by telling us Cardiff was the best gig so far, a trick I think that plays out every night as the crowd attempt to be wilder than before.

Their drummer is more theatrical than I’ve seen in a long time. During one solo he’s standing up and every few beats he fires a drum stick into the crowd. I wonder how many he gets through on a tour! The music is heavier still and it seems the sound level has been ramped up. However despite being next to the mixing desk it’s a bit distorted for me, not quite as clean as Alien Weaponry or Employed To Serve and I wonder why that should be, my positioning perhaps.

During Alien Weaponry’s set I noticed a chap with an inflatable whale and this appears during one song, probably “Flying Whales”, the backdrop is whale sound and representations of whales are projected. I can see it’s hurled around for the entire song but once over it, like the plight of Whales, simply disappears. The confetti canons were in action and as the song fades so too does the falling confetti perhaps all a metaphor for the demise of Nature as man wrecks havoc on the planet.

Speaking of havoc, Gojira are certainly doing that with the crowd. Even the seated are head banging along and a few survivors of the pit emerge to take a breath before plunging back in. The fire canons are in action and, even though I’m not close, I can feel their heat. They seem to reinforce the power of the music as the set comes to a close. After an encore the band simply say thank you and off they go.

My Review Score : 8

It’s a short walk back for me before day 2.

Day 2 starts with a problem, when asked if I had allergies I mention shellfish and, because they’re being inspected, I need to sit at a specially cleaned table, read the allergen list and have my breakfast cooked separately in a cleaned kitchen all of which will take an hour. Being a bit “hangry” I say that I would’ve been better off saying nothing as it’s highly unlikely breakfast would upset me rather than someone with a nut allergy. As it turns out the allergen list for breakfast items was completely free from shellfish. As an aside a week later a restaurant server actually went to make sure the sorbet had no shellfish in it! I decided there and then to take responsibility for myself and tomorrow will be saying “no I’ve no allergies” at breakfast.

After the short walk back to the station there’s time to grab a coffee whilst waiting for the train to London. The train journey is uneventful as is the tube ride back out into the suburbs where I have another walk, bit longer this time, to the hotel. It’s self service these days and I’m soon checked in and ready to go.

Being out of town a bit more there’s not really anywhere to eat. There is the hotel but I don’t fancy that and wonder if I can grab something at the venue. As I start walking towards Alexander Palace I spot a garage with an M&S so decided just to grab a sandwich for eating on the move. Ally Pally as it is known sits on top of a hill overlooking London. My journey isn’t too bad compared to some routes but, as I get near, does venture into a park area that, in the dark, is a little foreboding. However street lamps come on as I ascend with the steepest bit near the top. What a view! Being dark now what I can see is a sea of red lights on the buildings that tower over London making up its skyline. It’s strangely beautiful and captivating.

There is already a queue and judging by the number of people here I’m glad I ate on the way. The door time comes and goes and I over hear security being urged to squeeze everyone up to make more room, why not just open the doors on time? Eventually we’re on our way and here they’re only checking tickets as well. Once inside I make for the cloak room to drop off my coat, it was a bit of an inconvenience last night. As I make my way inside the grand hall where the bands will play I notice most people have headed for the food stalls and refreshment stands in the foyer.

I’m able to get quite near the front again before Employed To Serve come on right on time.

Employed To Serve

Well what can I say, it’s pretty much the same if not identical set to last night. However I pick up some nuances suggesting this venue has different acoustics as they sound cleaner and seem to be more energetic.

The pit begins from the first note and it is right next to me, no problem as I help a few back into the fray. There seems to be more energy in the crowd tonight as we ebb and flow in time with the music and will of the pit. It’s all good as it means I’m edging closer to the front. Once again the crowd participation takes place and again everything just stops with cheering and applause so we can catch our breath.

As the stage is being set up for Alien Weaponry another opportunity arises for me to move forward as the crowd refreshes itself. I make it to second row from the barrier next to a tall guy who asks me if the 2 people behind me are with me. “No they’re just using me as a battering ram!” I replied. The 2 that have followed me are only around 5ft tall, “How old are you?” asks the tall guy, “16” the girl replies, “Oh the opposite of my age” I say which only brought blank looks until I explained.

My Review Score : 8

Alien Weaponry

Henry arrives to rapturous applause and as it dies down and he stands behind his drums he begins the “Haka”. For some reason this time it’s more impressive, perhaps my closer proximity brings with it more intimacy. Towards the end Lewis and Turangua have joined him as they rip into “Raupatu” and the pit goes wild. The 2 blokes in front of me have gone full helicopter with their heads and hair over the barriers and during the set are reminded by security to lean back.

Definitely the music is clearer today, the harmonies more harmonious and the riffs more vibrant. Henry’s drumming is deeper and backs the bass line of Turangua perfectly. Once again Turangua is prowling the stage powering the bass line out around us. Lewis’ vocals are striking in tone and definitely more urgent and appealing on “Holding My Breath”.

Crowd surfers are back and from security’s reaction I know they’re coming over. At one point I have to tap the windmill in front of me as he’s nearly flattened by a surfer that’s teetering on the brink, he thanks me and then returns to generating some breeze. Here a different surfer, coming feet first he’s kicking heads as he passes by! But then oops as one is dropped only to be hauled back up and virtually thrown over the barrier. It’s around this point that one of the security people ask me if I’m OK, I give her the thumbs up and she smiles.

There is less chat than last night as it seems the band are feeding off the crowd who are definitely more involved tonight. It’s fast and furious as the pounding rhythm of “RÅ« ana te whenua” is brutally played at an intensity that only makes the crowd wilder. There’s no wall of death tonight but then judging by the mayhem the pit has been in for the past 30 minutes I’m sure it’s not needed.

All too soon the dying strains of “Kai Tangata” are reverberating around the Palace hall as everyone begins to slowdown. The chap in front has managed to grab one of Henry’s drum sticks and then gets a Turangua guitar pick! Some people have all the luck but I’m just happy to have been here and as close as possible.

My Review Score : 10

I’m off in search of refreshments etc. as the crowd quickly fills my vacated space. In the entrance area there are bars and stands selling food and drink which is surprisingly busy. I always wonder why, having bought a ticket, people still only turn up for the main act. Perhaps they just know who/what they want to hear and aren’t interested in discovering new bands or maybe they’re just hungry/thirsty. After a short wait I get served and wander back in.

Gojira

The curtain I saw last night is back hiding the stage, whilst it’s changed, across which symbols are slowly scrolling to the right. Still none the wiser as to their meaning except it appears to be rune like symbolism but again the countdown clock begins with the rising excitement amongst the crowd which is slowly getting larger. By the time it reaches 0 and the curtain drops it’s got pretty full and the crowd erupts simultaneously with the first chord. The set list is pretty much the same but again I’m struck that musically and sonically it sounds so much more polished here which I take to mean Alexandra Palace is better acoustically than the Motor Point arena.

The band are again laid back letting their music speak for them and it’s clearly resonating with the crowd who frequently join in. Not much need for encouragement but the usual “x were loader” is touted once again leading to increased levels of energy.

The drum solo is similar and again every few beats he fires a drum stick into the crowd. However there’s a different twist, or perhaps I missed it last night, he holds up cards on which there’s a thumbs up, thumbs down and “do you want more?” All of which engages the crowd in one of the lighter moments of the evening.

Whilst the music is heavy and at times a little dark there is a lightness of touch which creates a rich soundscape to bathe the crowd in. Tonight there’s less distortion which makes it more enjoyable and the soulful intensity of the main vocals come through more imbuing the music with more significance. There’s a definite environmental bent to a couple of songs which sits at odds with a touring band who, presumably, have a large carbon footprint. But how else currently can they, and us with our own carbon footprint in attending, come together to celebrate life and music whilst also getting across and taking home the message.

As the band take a breather before the encore I go in search of my coat to beat the rush, returning in time to catch the closing songs of the set. The crowd seems to have compressed more towards the stage as the final notes ebb away, the flame throwers subside and the confetti dwindles to a few strands fluttering upwards on the heat generated by a few thousand bodies as the band departs.

My Review Score : 9

My walk back to the hotel  is downhill and I pass a couple of people trying to find the same hotel so I direct them.

The next morning I’ve learnt my lesson over allergen breakfasts and I’m straight in although the buffet is slow to be replenished. Leaving when I thought I had plenty of time I arrive at the station to find I’d misread the times and my booked train has left! Oh well there’s another shortly and it gives me extra time before I’m back to reality and work.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.